Genres on top of Genres

When talking about genres Dean discussed genres in writing.  All of our early lives we are taught to look at genres as a style of writing or a type of book.  However, Dean says that is wrong.  Dean describes genres as the type of literacy that highlights the idea behind the writing.  This is where I became confused.  Why was I always taught that they were styles of writing? But, now it is said to be something else.  Whenever I read I don’t often look past the writing to determine why this was the idea for this writing.  As students we are commonly asked what the genre of an article is? Generally looking for fiction, horror, comedy, non-fiction, etc.  But, never is one of the expected answers to be what is within the writing and what is defined by what we read.

I didn’t understand two areas of this idea. These areas being the ideological genre and how genres can be social?  The ideological genre opened my eyes and showed me how they differ amongst groups.  This idea showed me how everyone within a specific clique of people can easily expand on the “writing” within that group.  Which to me carries into the aspect of genres being social.  Everyone will have a different idea or opinion on a social experience.  So are social genres and accurate and acceptable thing to look at? Well from this article I would say yes.  You want to know every aspect of the writing to understand the true genre right? So wouldn’t every outlook on the experience may make the “writing” more understandable and easy to pick a part and see the true picture of.

I slowly began to understand how genres can be more than just the overall style of the writing, however I would benefit to sit down and continue to read up on and think about this concept.  Deans article left me shocked and baffled with some new ideas of genres I had never thought about before.  I find interest in this and plan to continue to look at this idea and learn more about how genres and how experiences can be shared within a genre that I never saw possible before.

Published by

cdamero1

🐢 I like the word "fam"

Leave a comment